Copa America 2016 is one of most viewed football tournaments in the world and the tournament started in 1916. The tournament has been organized 44 times and Uruguay is the country that has won it the most times. Uruguay has won the Copa America 15 times. The tournament is held between the South American football teams and the winner is labeled as the continental champion of South America.

The tournament has gone through several changes and the new format of the tournament was adopted in 1993. In the new format, 12 teams will compete in this tournament and the tournament will last for a whole month. As the South American region has 10 teams, 2 teams are invited forms other regions. The last version of the tournament is won by Chile.

This is the first time in the history of the tournament that the South American cup is organized in United States of America. This is the special edition of the tournament as it marks the 100th year of the tournament. This special addition will have 16 teams instead of 12 and they will be from two regions of the world. 16 teams will be divided into four groups and the tournament will start June 3, 2016.

The final match of the tournament will be played on June 26 in East Rutherford. More than 22 metropolitan areas showed their interest in hosting the matches and the stadium were selected by the bidding process. 10 stadiums will host all these matches that have the capacity of more than 50000 attendees.